Coming Out

beach-193786_640

“Coming out” is a very popular term in the LGBT communities. It is generally a popular term in many societies. Or at least in those who primarily speak English. Honestly, I have not done the research to tell you the exact facts, but it is just a tendency that I have noticed. And I don’t like it. It is a term I personally don’t use.

The reason why I don’t like this term and refuse to use it, is because it’s something that people shouldn’t be required to do in the first place. Anyone who is transgender, gay, lesbian, or whatever else the society does not consider as “normal”, should not have to do a whole “coming out ceremony” to anyone. Unfortunately, this is the reality right now.

Perhaps I am a big dreamer. An idealist. But I dream of a world where nobody needs to “come out” to anyone. Where nobody needs to adhere to some “normal” labels. Where being yourself is normal! I dream of a world where nobody needs to be afraid of being transgender, gay, lesbian, bisexual, etc.

Finally, I don’t have a problem with people using this term. If that’s what’s comfortable for them, it’s perfectly fine. Just this thing has been at the back of my mind lately, and I felt like it’s something worth sharing.

I like to challenge conventional thinking. It helps me grow and get rid of ideas, dogmas and ways of living that no longer serve me. This is just a small portion of what I have rejected and denied, and many would frown at me for doing that.

I salute those who understand, or at least respect this. But I wish no ill for those who don’t. May love win over fear.

#MyBrandOfHappiness

Leave a Reply

